Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Julius Shulman Resources

An overview, selected bibliography, and frequently asked questions about the Julius Shulman Photography Archive, which contains over 260,000 vintage and modern prints, negatives, and transparencies.

Introduction

Created 2005, updated 2021
Author: Research Services 

The Julius Shulman Photography Archive documents Shulman's career as an architectural photographer from 1935 to 2009. The material primarily documents Southern California modern architecture, including the Case Study Houses. The collection comprises 1231 boxes and 8 oversize flat files, containing more than 260,000 negatives, vintage and modern prints, transparencies, contact prints, color slides, in addition to clippings, papers and indices. The material was generated and collected by Shulman.

This research guide includes helpful tips on how to use the archive. It also includes related resources such as a selected bibliography, selected exhibitions, films, and interviews featuring Julius Shulman and his work, frequently asked questions, and selected resources in remembrance of Julius Shulman (1910-2009).

This guide will be updated over time with additional information.

If you need additional assistance or have questions please Ask A Librarian.