This is a list of conservation related electronic journals that are freely available to all. For tips on how to find other eJournals in the Conservation Collection, see instructions at the bottom of this page.
See also: Getty Article & Subscription Databases; Getty Article & Subscription Databases with Expanded Access and Open Access Online Resources
The following resources are open access and always freely available. Anyone with an internet connection can access these resources from any computer, from any location, and without a login.
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
| Advanced Research in Conservation Science | Peer-reviewed journal issued by the University of Cairo, Faculty of Archaeology, Conservation department (Giza, Egypt) |
| Aedon - rivista di arte e diritto on line | Triannual online magazine specializing in art and law |
| Australian Institute for the Conservation of Cultural Material |
AICCM provides news on conservation and cultural heritage |
| ArcHistoR | Biannual journal of architecture and restoration history |
| ArtMatters: International Journal for Technical Art History | A platform for peer-reviewed, open access papers, published by Archetype Publications, London |
| The Bonefolder | An ejournal for the bookbinder and book artist |
| The British Library - National Preservation Office (NPO) Journal |
Publication and resources on collection care by the British Library 1998-2003 |
| The British Library - Conservation (ejournal) |
Publications and resources on conservation and collection care 2004-2007 |
| British Museum Technical Research Bulletin | Published the results of collaborative work by the British Museum's curators, conservators and scientists, 2007-2015. |
| Brukenthal. Acta Musei 4. Restoration |
Scientific reviews on restoration published by the Brukenthal National Museum |
| Bulgarian e-Journal of Archaeology | A biannual publication concerning archaeological investigations in Bulgaria and broader archaeological heritage |
| Bulletin, APROA-BRK | Published quarterly by the Association Professionnelle de Conservateurs-Restaurateurs d'Oeuvres d'Art (Brussels). Full text is from 2009. |
| Bulletin of Research on Metal Conservation | Online resource for research dissemination by conservators and scientists of metallic cultural heritage artefacts |
| CeROArt - Conservation, Exposition, Restauration d'Objets d'Art: revue électronique |
A webjournal and platform for pluridisciplinary approaches in issues of exhibition and conservation |
| CLIR Issues | Newsletters published six times a year concerning strategies that enhance research, teaching, and learning environments |
| The Northern States Conservation Center's quarterly publication | |
| Colorants | Published quarterly by MDPI |
| Published twice yearly by the Association of Restorers (VDR), based in Germany | |
| Conservar património | Journal of the Professional Association of Conservators-Restorers of Portugal |
| Conservation Science in Cultural Heritage: Historical-Technical Journal |
An international peer-reviewed journal which continues Quaderni di Scienza della Conservazione |
| Conservation Update | Journal of the European Research Centre for Book and Paper Conservation – Restoration. |
| Context | Journal published five times a year by the Institute of Historic Building Conservation |
| Continuité | Quarterly issues by Érudit regarding the architectural, artistic, archeological and museum-related heritage of Quebec |
| Conversaciones | Biannual publication co-published by INAH, CNCPC, and ICCROM |
| C.R.P.R. informa |
Biannual magazine of the Centro Regionale Progettazione e Restauro |
| Culturas |
Biannual publication of cultural management by the Universitat Politècnica de València |
| Denkmal heute: Denkmalpflege in Österreich | A magazine by Österreichische Gesellschaft der Denkmalfreunde presenting ongoing restoration and revitalization projects |
| Die Denkmalpflege | Biannual art and preservation magazine by Zeitschrift Deutsche Kunst und Denkmalpflege |
| Denkmalpflege in Baden-Württemberg | Quarterly reporting on monuments and preservation |
| Docomomo Journal | A biannual journal published by Docomomo International |
| E-conservation Journal |
A biannual journal in cultural heritage, conservation, history of art, archaeology, material science and chemistry |
| Egyptian Journal of Archaeological and Restoration Studies | A multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published bi-annually by SUPC-Egypt |
| E-plastory |
Journal of historic polymeric materials, plastics heritage and history |
| European Journal of Cultural Management and Policy |
Yearly publication on cultural research (earlier title: ENCATC Journal of Cultural Management and Policy) |
| Ex Novo - Journal of Archaeology | An international journal that promotes interdisciplinary research focusing on the multiple relations between archaeology and society |
| GCI Bulletin | Bimonthly bulletin by the Getty Conservation Institute |
| George Wright Forum | The George Wright Society’s journal of parks, protected areas and cultural sites |
| Glass and Ceramics | Newsletter published by the Glass and Ceramics Working Group of ICOM-CC |
| Gremium: revista de restauración arquitectónica | A magazine specializing in the theory, history and techniques of architectural restoration |
| Heritage | A journal of cultural and natural heritage science published quarterly by MDPI |
| Heritage Matters | Regional magazine by the Ontario Heritage Trust |
| Heritage Science | Open access journal published by SpringerOpen |
| Historic England Research | Historic England’s digital magazine |
| Historic Environment | Interdisciplinary research in the field of cultural heritage and heritage conservation published triannually by ICOMOS |
| Hozon Kagaku | Published by the Center for Conservation Science, Tokyo National Research Institute for Cultural Properties |
| ICOMOS International Secretariat e-news | News publication dedicated to the conservation of the world's monuments and sites |
| ICON News | The magazine of the Institute of Conservation |
| Il capitale culturale - Studies on the Value of Cultural Heritage |
A magazine promoted by the University of Macerata implementing the study, research and design activities for the enhancement of cultural heritage |
| In Situ - Revue des patrimoines | Publication for the dissemination of conservation and cultural heritage work from the Ministère de la Culture, France. |
| Instituto del Patrimonio Cultural de España | The Institute of Cultural Heritage of Spain publishes two magazines: Patrimonio Cultural de España on an annual basis and Informes y Trabajos on a biannual basis |
| International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property | The ICCROM Library provides open access resources in conservation through its catalogue interface including ICOM triennial meetings |
| International Journal of Conservation Science |
The IJCS is a journal devoted to the publication of original research papers in applied conservation science and its broad range of applications |
| International Journal of Digital Curation | A collection of papers on the management and curation of digital data and other objects of value to research, cultural heritage and society |
| International Journal of Heritage and Museum Studies | Published annually in print and online in English by Helwan University |
| International Journal of Heritage, Tourism and Hospitality | Open access, peer-reviewed journal issued by the Faculty of Tourism and Hotels, Fayoum University, Egypt |
| International Journal of Intangible Heritage |
Promoting the understanding of all aspects of intangible heritage with research and examples of good professional practice |
| International Journal of Multidisciplinary Studies in Architecture and Cultural Heritage | Open access journal issued by the Italian Cultural Institute in co-operation with Egypt Future Foundation |
| International Journal of Multidisciplinary Studies in Heritage Research | Open access journal issued by the Italian Cultural Institute in co-operation with Egypt Future Foundation |
| Internet Archaeology | Open access journal based in the Department of Archaeology, University of York. |
| Intervención | Open access journal published by the Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia (Mexico City), focusing on conservation, restoration and museology |
| Journal de la Société pour l'étude de l'architecture au Canada |
Annual bulletins provided by the Journal of the Society for the Study of Architecture in Canada |
| Journal of Conservation and Museum Studies | Published by the Institute of Archaeology at University College London |
| Journal of Conservation Science | Bimonthly journal by the Korean Society of Conservation Science for Cultural Heritage |
| Journal of Contemporary Archival Studies | Sponsored by the Yale University Library and New England Archivists (NEA) |
| Journal of the American Institute for Conservation (limited open access) |
JAIC is a publication of technical studies, research papers, treatment case studies and ethics and standards discussions relating to the conservation and preservation of historic and cultural works |
| Journal of the International Colour Association | A collection of papers promoting multi-disciplinary discussion on all aspects of color |
| Journal of Tourism, Hotels and Heritage | The scientific journal of the Faculty of Tourism and Hotels-Matrouh University is an online, open access journal published twice a year |
| Journal of Traditional Building, Architecture and Urbanism | Published annually by INTBAU España |
| Journal Sampurasun - Interdisciplinary Studies for Cultural Heritage |
Biannual publication on cultural heritage |
| Korean Heritage | Published by the Cultural Heritage Administration, Republic of Korea |
| Laboratório HERCULES | HERCULES Lab, University of Évora, is devoted to the study of cultural heritage, with a focus on physical and material sciences methodologies and tools |
| Lapis: the Journal of the Institute of Fine Arts | A journal on art history, architecture, and art conservation published by the Institute of Fine Arts, New York University |
| Leather and Related Materials | Newsletter published by the Leather and Related Materials Working Group of ICOM-CC |
| Loggia, Arquitectura & Restauración | A journal dedicated to the discipline of architectural restoration and its related fields of pictorial, sculptural and archaeological restoration, published by the Universitat Politècnica de València |
| Materia: Journal of Technical Art History | Materia is co-edited by a group of conservators and art historians based in Europe and North America |
| Minerals | A journal of natural mineral systems, mineral resources, mining, and mineral processing published monthly by MDPI |
| Modern Materials and Contemporary Art | Newsletter published by the Modern Materials and Contemporary Art Working Group of ICOM-CC |
| Monumenta | Material concerning the protection of natural and architectural heritage in Greece and Cyprus |
| Munhwajae | Quarterly journal of cultural heritage studies by the National Research Institute of Cultural Heritage, Korea |
| Nasleđe = Heritage | A journal in heritage, cultural monuments, conservation and architecture in Belgrade |
| National Gallery Technical Bulletin | An annual publication in the study of the materials and techniques of painting, and the scientific examination of paintings |
| New York Landmarks Conservancy | Annual Reports in preservation |
| Objects from Indigenous and World Cultures | Newsletter published by the Objects from Indigenous and World Cultures Working Group of ICOM-CC (previously known as Ethnographic Collections) |
| Ochrona dziedzictwa kulturowego | Protection of Cultural Heritage is a biannual journal concerning the preservation and protection of monuments |
| On Board (ICOM Committee for Conservation) | News and reports from the ICOM-CC directory board |
| Patrimoine sans frontières | Publications on cultural heritage provided by Heritage Without Borders |
| Pedra & cal | Building rehabilitation and heritage conservation magazine by GECorPA |
| Pojon kwahak yŏn'gu | Annual conservation science research publication by the National Research Institute of Cultural Heritage, Korea |
| Politechnika Czestochowska Budownictwo o Zoptymalizowanym Potenciale Energetycznym = Construction of Optimized Energy Potential |
A journal presenting theoretical and practical problems of sustainable building construction |
| Polymers | A peer-reviewed, open access journal of polymer science published semimonthly online by MDPI |
| Raymond Lemaire International Centre for Conservation Newsletter |
From the University of Leuven, Belgium, the RLICC’s biannual newsletter focuses on the preservation and restoration of built cultural heritage |
| RBM: a Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage |
The Association of College and Research Libraries' journal covering issues pertaining to special collections libraries and cultural heritage institutions |
| Renovatum | Biennial journal focusing on conservation, preservation and display of cultural heritage |
| Rescat: butlletí del Servei de Restauració de Béns Mobles |
Publication from the Centre de Restauració de Béns Mobles (CRBMC) that describes restoration and conservation processes |
| Revista Do.co,mo.mo_Brasil | Published bi-annually by Docomomo Brasil |
| Ridphe_R: revista iberoamericana do patrimônio histórico-educativo | Published by UNICAMP, this journal publishes articles on the theme of historical-educational and cultural heritage |
| Santander: estudios de patrimonio | Published annually by the Universidad de Cantabria, this journal publishes new research by its graduate students, in addition to scholarly articles and book reviews related to the theme of cultural heritage |
| Save Venice | Annual newsletters updating supporters on the status of current and completed projects |
| SCIRES-IT | Articles in the areas of digitalization and multimedia technologies and information & communication technology (ICT) in support of cultural and environmental heritage |
| Scroll | A publication by conservation students at the Grimwade Centre based at the University of Melbourne |
| Society for Industrial Archeology Newsletter |
The SIA Newsletter (SIAN) is published by the Society for Industrial Archeology |
| State of Main | The annual publication of Main Street America, which offers resources and solutions for leading revitalization efforts |
| Studies in Digital Heritage | A journal established by the Office of Scholarly Publishing (OSP) and the Virtual World Heritage Lab at Indiana University |
| Tate Papers | An online research journal that publishes scholarly articles on British and modern international art, and on museum practice today |
| Techne | A biannual journal dedicated to the science at the service of the history of art and the preservation of cultural goods. Published by the Laboratoire de recherche des musées de France |
| Territorio Italia | A quarterly magazine of technical-scientific information involving multiple disciplinary fields |
| V&A Conservation Journal | Published annually, the Conservation Journal is an informal publication on the conservation of cultural heritage by the Victoria and Albert Museum |
| VoCA Journal | Voices in Contemporary Art’s digital publication focuses on contemporary art stewardship |
| Western Association for Art Conservation | WAAC publishes triannual newsletters regarding the conservation of cultural property |
| Wiadomości konserwatorskie = Journal of Heritage Conservation | Quarterly publication of the Stowarzyszenia Konserwatorów Zabytków (Association of Monument Conservators), based in Poland |
| World Monuments Fund | The WMF provides annual reports on cultural heritage |
To find other electronic books and journals in the Library Catalog related to conservation, you have the option to search within the Conservation Collection or to perform a subject search of the entire Getty holdings.
To search within the Conservation Collection, go to the Library Catalog and search “conservation collection” with my exact phrase in the Basic search bar.
Use the side bar filters to refine your search. For example:
Availability: Available Online AND Resource type: Journals
These results include items purchased for the Conservation Collection, items freely available online and catalogued by Getty Library staff, GCI publications, and items digitized for inclusion in the Getty Portal, among other categories. Their bibliographic records include a "Conservation Collection" tag.
The Library Catalog also includes access to digitized materials through the library system's shared repository (called the Alma Community Zone). Not all of these materials have a Conservation Collection tag attached to their bibliographic records, so the best way to find them is through a subject search in the Library Catalog and to filter your results by availability (i.e., "Available Online").