Stendahl Art Galleries Records: Guillermo Echániz Correspondence

• Getty Library Catalog: The Stendahl Art Galleries Records 
• Finding Aid: The Stendahl Art Galleries Records 
• Project website: Pre-Hispanic Art Provenance Initiative
• Notable works and collections: Latin American dealer archives
• Getty Research Portal Virtual Collection: Art of the Ancient Americas: Historiography, Provenance and Collecting
• Blog post: Research to Shed Light on 20th-Century Trade in Mexican Antiquities 
• PODCAST: At Home with the Arensbergs and Their Avant-Garde Art Collection 
• Symposium: Collecting Mexican Art before 1940: A New World of American Antiquities
• Symposium: Collecting Mesoamerican Art, 1940–1968: Forging a Market in the United States and Mexico 
• Symposium: New Scholarship on the Origins of Latin American Museums 

Selected References

While the biographical notes and annotated letters included in this Research Guide contain specialized references to an array of historical and scholarly sources, the following list offers a general introduction to recent publications and emerging scholarship related to the Stendahl Art Galleries specifically, and to the 20th-century market for pre-Hispanic art more generally. Our hope is that this list will grow as more students, scholars, and museum professionals access the Stendahl Art Galleries Records.

Barnet-Sanchez, Holly. “The Necessity of Pre-Columbian Art in the United States: Appropriations and Transformations of Heritage, 1933–1945.” In Collecting the pre-Columbian Past: A Symposium at Dumbarton Oaks, edited by Elizabeth Hill Boone, 177–207. Washington, D.C.: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, 1993.

Coe, Michael D. "From Huaquero to Connoisseur: The Early Market in pre-Columbian Art." In Collecting the pre-Columbian Past: A Symposium at Dumbarton Oaks, edited by Elizabeth Hill Boone, 271–290. Washington, D.C.: Dumbarton Oaks Research Library and Collection, 1993.

Dammann, April. Exhibitionist: Earl Stendahl, Art Dealer as Impresario. Santa Monica, CA: Angel City Press, 2011.

Hoobler, Ellen. “Smoothing the Path for Rough Stones: The Changing Role of Pre-Columbian Art in the Arensberg Collection.” In Hollywood Arensberg: Avant-Garde Collecting in Midcentury L.A, edited by Mark Nelson, William H. Sherman, and Ellen Hoobler, 343–398. Los Angeles: Getty Research Institute, 2020.

Miller, Mary E. Review of The Market for Mesoamerica: Reflections on the Sale of Pre-Columbian Antiquities by Cara G. Tremain and Donna Yates. Latin American Antiquity 31 , no. 1 (2020): 214–216.

Miller, Mary E. “The Art of Ancient Mesoamerica, Collections Forged before 1940." In Collecting Mesoamerican Art before 1940, edited by Andrew D. Turner and Megan E. O’Neil. Los Angeles: Getty Publications, forthcoming.

Nelson, Mark, William H. Sherman, and Ellen Hoobler. Hollywood Arensberg: Avant-garde Collecting in Midcentury L.A.. Los Angeles: Getty Research Institute, 2020.

O’Neil, Megan E. and Mary E. Miller. “‘An Artistic Discovery of America’: Mexican Antiquities in Los Angeles 1940-1960s.” In Found in Translation: Design in California and Mexico, 1915-1985, edited by Wendy Kaplan, 162-167. Munich: DelMonico Books; Los Angeles: Los Angeles County Museum of Art, 2017.

O’Neil, Megan E. “Changing Geographies of the Mesoamerican Antiquities Market circa 1940: Pierre Matisse and Earl Stendahl.” In Collecting Mesoamerican Art before 1940, edited by Andrew D. Turner and Megan E. O’Neil. Los Angeles: Getty Publications, forthcoming.

Robb, Matthew H. “The Pre-Columbian as MacGuffin in Mid-Century Los Angeles.” In LA Collects LA, edited by Jesse Lerner and Rubén Ortiz-Torres, 49-59. Los Angeles: Vincent Price Art Museum, 2017.   

Saint-Raymond, Léa, and Élodie Vaudry. “A New ‘El Dorado’: The French Market for pre-Columbian Artefacts in the Interwar Period.” In Acquiring Cultures: Histories of World Art on Western Markets, edited by Bénédicte Savoy, Charlotte Guichard, and Christine Howald, 101-119. Berlin: De Gruyter, 2018.

Stendahl Art Galleries records, 1907-1971, Smithsonian Archives of American Art.

Tremain, Cara G., and Donna Yates, eds. The Market for Mesoamerica: Reflections on the Sale of Pre-Columbian Antiquities. Gainesville: University of Florida, 2019.

Turner, Andrew D., and Megan E. O’Neil, eds. Collecting Mesoamerican Art before 1940. Los Angeles: Getty Publications, forthcoming.

Vaudry, Élodie. Les arts précolombiens: Transferts et métamorphoses de l’Amérique latine à la France, 1875-1945. Rennes: Presses universitaires de Rennes, 2019.