Skip to Main Content
site header image

Prints after Poussin

A searchable collection of 35 images of mid- to late-17th-century reproductive prints after the work of French painter and draftsman Nicolas Poussin (1594–1665)

Resources and Links

Audran after Poussin, L'incredulite de Saint Thomas (The incredulity of Thomas) (detail), 17th century (2001.PR.3)

 

Related Items in Special Collections

View digitized items in the Library Catalog. 

Prints

Benoît Audran (1661–1721), [Seven sacraments], Paris, 17th century.
Five reproductive prints from the collection of Leo Steinberg.
2000.PR.16 (FF. 13–17)
 
Leon Kossoff (b.1926), Landscape with a Calm, 1999.
Four color etchings and one drypoint after the painting Landscape with a Calm by Nicolas Poussin.
2000.PR.27
 
Everhard Jabach, (1618–1695), Recueil de 283. estampes gravées à l'eau forte par les plus habiles peintres du tems, d'apres les desseins des grands maitres, que possedoit autrefois M. Jabach et qui depuis on passé au cabinet du roy, Paris, 1754.
A selection of prints after drawings by several artists, including Poussin.
2001.PR.32
 
Jean Couvay (1622–?), Sanctus Bartolomeus (before 1656).
A reproductive print after the Martyrdom of Saint Erasmus by Nicolas Poussin.
2002.PR.125
 
Matthias Oesterreich (1716–1778), Recueil de quelques desseins de plusieurs habiles maitres tirés du cabinet de S. E. Msgr. le prem. ministre comte de Brühl, gravés par Matthieu Oesterreich, Dresden, 1752.
An unbound suite of prints by Matthias Oesterreich and Charles Hutin, after the works of several masters, including Poussin.
2003.PR.1
 
Jean Pesne (1623–1700), Livre de portraiture du Poussin, Paris, 18th century.
Plates by Pesne after paintings and drawings by Nicolas Poussin.
2003.PR.146
 
Jean Pesne (1623–1700), Livre pour aprendre à désigner avec les proportions des parties qui ont esté choisie dans les ouvrages de N. Poussin, Paris, 17th century.
Prints by Pesne after studies by Poussin representing facial features, gestures, and parts of the body.
2003.PR.148
 
Nouveau livre de dessin de N. Poussin, Paris, 18th century.
Prints after studies by Poussin representing facial features, gestures, and parts of the body.
2003.PR.149
 

Manuscripts

Pierre-Narcisse Guerin (1774–1833), Miscellaneous papers relating to P.- N. Guerin, 1815–1833.
Among the seven letters included in the collection is one that cites Poussin's Deluge as a work containing the elements of artistic genius.
861183
 
Jean Michel Moreau (1741–1814), Travel journal, 1785–1786.
Autograph manuscript journal detailing a trip made by Jean Michel Moreau (known as Moreau le Jeune) to Italy. Includes descriptions of Poussin's works in various collections.
960006
 
Robert Smirke (1752–184), Robert Smirke's papers, 1804–1840.
Five letters by Smirke, one from 1804 regarding drawings sent for the Lords of the Treasury, and one from 1840 enclosing a four page essay comparing Raphael and Poussin.
870005
 
Books
Anonymous, Essais sur la Vie et sur les Tableaux du Poussin, Rome, 1783.
87-B10542
 
Jacques Cambry, Essai sur la vie et sur les tableaux du Poussin, par le Cen. Cambry, Paris, 1799.
84-B24966 Bound-With
 
Lady Maria Callcott (1785–1842), Memoirs of the life of Nicholas Poussin, by Maria Graham, London, 1820.
ND553.P8 C3
 
Lady Maria Callcott (1785–1842), Memoires sur la vie de Nicolas Poussin, par Maria Graham, Paris, 1821.
French translation of.
ND553.P8 C3 1821
 
P. M. (Pierre Marie) Gault de Saint-Germain (1754–1842), Vie de Nicolas Poussin, considere comme chef de l'ecole Françoise …, Paris, 1806.
ND533.P8 G3
 
C. P. (Charles Paul) Landon (1760–1826), Vies et oeuvres des peintres les plus celebres de toutes les ecoles …, Paris: 1805–1811.
Life and oeuvre of Nicolas Poussin.
N7510.L237/85-B19298
 
Giovanni de Lazara, papers, ca. 1763–1833
Notes on Poussin's Rape of the Sabines.
870370
 
Nicolas Poussin (1594–1665), Sammtliche Werke von Nicolaus Poussin, Paris, 19th century.
87-B20098
 
Nicolas Poussin (1594–1665), Collection de lettres de Nicolas Poussin (or Lettres de Poussin), Paris, 1824.
ND553.P88 A3 1824
 
Souscription pour un Monument á elever á la Gloire de N. Poussin, Paris, 1802.
87-B10614

Works by Poussin in the J. Paul Getty Museum

Two Girls Accompanied by Cupid, about 1625
 
Apollo and the Muses on Mount Parnassus, about 1626–1627 or 1631–1632
 
Saint John Baptizing in the River Jordan, 1630s
 
The Crossing of the Red Sea, about 1634
 
A Path Leading into a Forest Clearing, about 1635–1640
 
Study for the Triumph of Neptune and Amphitrite, about 1635
 
Votary of Bacchus, about 1640
 
Studies of Antiquities, about 1645
 
Two Studies of an Ancient Statue (recto); Scylla and a Centaur (verso), about 1645
 
Landscape with a Calm, 1650–1651
 
The Holy Family, about 1651

Bibliography

Bénézit, E. (Emmanuel), 1854–1920.
Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays / par un groupe d'écrivains spécialistes français et étrangers. Nouvelle éd., entièrement ref. / sous la direction de Jacques Busse. Paris: Gründ, 1999.
N40.B47 1999
 
Bibliothèque nationale (France). Cabinet des estampes.
Inventaire du fonds français après 1800 / par Jean Laran. Paris : Bibliothèque nationale, 1930–.
NE55.F8 P232d 1930
 
Blunt, Anthony, 1907–1983.
Nicolas Poussin. London: Phaidon, 1967.
ND553.P8 B51 1967a
 
Nagler, G. K. (Georg Kaspar), 1801–1866.
Neues allgemeines Künstler-Lexicon oder Nachrichten von dem Leben und den Werken der Maler, Bildhauer, Baumeister, Kupferstecher, Formschneider, Lithographen, Zeichner, Medailleure, Elfenbeinarbeiter, etc. / bearbeitet von G.K. Nagler. Munich: E.A. Fleischmann, 1835–1852.
N40.N14 1835
 
Thuillier, Jacques.
Nicolas Poussin. Paris: Flammarion, ca. 1994.
ND553.P8 T553 1994
 
Thuillier, Jacques.
Poussin before Rome, 1594–1624; translated from the French by Christopher Allen. London, New York: Richard L. Feigen & Co., 1995.
1356-084

Banner image: L'incredulité de Saint Thomas (The incredulity of Thomas) (detail), Gérard Audran (French, 1640–1703), after Nicolas Poussin (French, 1594–1665), 17th century, reproductive print. The Getty Research Institute, 2001.PR.3
Pastiche with elements of "Penitance" and "Ordination" from Nicolas Poussin's Sacraments, second series