Skip to main content
site header image

Los Angeles & Southern California Collections

A research guide to the Getty Research Institute Library's Los Angeles & Southern California collections and related exhibitions

Guide Overview

This research guide is an introduction to the archival collections and published materials in the Research Library's collections related to documentation and study of art and architecture in Los Angeles and throughout Southern California.

This guide covers the following subject matter as it related to Los Angeles and Southern California:

  • Architecture and Design (including Architects and Designers)
  • Artists
  • Collectors
  • Curators
  • Galleries
  • Historians
  • Photographs
  • Published books

It also lists exhibitions related to this subject that include Research Library collection material.

This guide is a work in progress and is not comprehensive. Additional information and resources may be added over time.

To find the complete holdings of the Research Library, please search the library catalog.  

Consultation of archival material requires an appointment in the Special Collections Reading Room, Monday - Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 

For questions about the collections or to make an appointment for the Special Collections Reading Room, please contact the Reference Desk by email, phone 310-440-7390, or stop by in person Monday - Friday 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. during library hours. 

Photo caption: Music Center, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Orchestra Foyer, n.d. Welton Becket architectural drawings and photographs (2010.M.83)