Resources for the Visual Arts and Images/Artists Rights
DIRC (Digital Image Rights Computator)
http://dirc.vraweb.org/
This program is intended to assist the user in assessing the intellectual property status of a specific image documenting a work of art, a designed object, or a portion of the built environment.
ARS (Artists Rights Society)
http://www.arsny.com
ARS is an artists' rights organization and copyright collective representing the intellectual property rights (copyright) of visual artists in the United States. Through agreements with affiliated international organizations, it also represents the copyright interests of thousands of foreign artists worldwide. The Web sites provides a partial list of artists represented.
Locating Author or Artist Life Dates
Getty Vocabulary Program's Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)
http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabularies/ulan/
A structured vocabulary containing names and other information about artists, patrons, firms, museums, and others related to the production and collection of art and architecture.
Library of Congress Name Authorities
http://authorities.loc.gov
Locating Publisher Information
Association of American Publishers, List of Members
http://publishers.org/who-we-are/our-members/
Includes an alphabetical list with links to most American publishers' websites and contact information.
Ulrichs Periodicals Directory
http://www.ulrichsweb.com
Authoritative resource of bibliographic and publisher information for more than 300,000 periodicals of all types.
Literary Market Place (LMP) and International Literary Market Place (ILMP)
http://www.literarymarketplace.com
LMP is the directory of American and Canadian book publishing. ILMP provides publishing data for more than 180 countries around the world.
Researching Orphan Works
DMLA (Digital Media Licensing Association)
http://www.digitalmedialicensing.org/orphan.shtml
Includes a link to "Orphan Works and OrphanSearch" a service which may assist in finding the creator of an orphaned image.