The Research Library owns photographs of Frank Lloyd Wright's drawings and microfiche copies of Wright's correspondence. The original drawings and letters are housed at The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archives (The Museum of Modern Art | Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, New York).
Frank Lloyd Wright Drawings (Photographs)
The Research Library possesses approximately 23,000 8 x 10 inch photographic copies of original drawings. The collection includes plans, elevations, sections, details, and perspective drawings for realized and unrealized projects, as well as photographs of decorative art designs and copies of historic photographs of buildings. The photographs are organized chronologically by project number.
Frank Lloyd Wright Correspondence
The Research Library houses microfiche copies of 103,071 original documents. Letters were written primarily between Wright or members of his firms (particularly the Taliesin Fellowship) and clients, suppliers of building materials, architectural historians, publishers, Taliesin students, and fellow architects. Documents are arranged chronologically within each letter of the alphabet and have been indexed by date, author, addressee, affiliation, major subjects, and project number.
Frank Lloyd Wright: an index to the Taliesin correspondence, edited and with an introduction by Anthony Alofsin, is a master index to the Wright correspondence. The five-volume printed index was published by Garland Publishing (1988) and prepared under the sponsorship of the Getty. Copies of the published print index are available for consultation at the Getty Library and other library collections worldwide. To facilitate researcher access and use of the correspondence, Columbia University's Avery Library has made an abbreviated index available (if Excel file doesn't load automatically in pop-up window, you may need to click enter in the URL search box).
To make an appointment to access the Frank Lloyd Wright Resources housed at the Research Library or to order scans of correspondence, please submit a Library Request Form.
Frank Lloyd Wright Frequently Asked Questions
How can I access the photos of Frank Lloyd Wright's drawings at the Research Library?
Notebooks containing the photographs of the drawings are housed in the Research Library's Special Collections Reading Room. They are for on-site study only. The Reading Room is open by appointment Monday-Friday, 9:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m. Submit a Library Request Form to make an appointment.
How can I access Frank Lloyd Wright's correspondence on microfiche at the Research Library?
The correspondence on microfiche may be viewed by appointment in our multimedia area during regular Library hours, Monday-Friday, 9:30 a.m.–5:00 p.m. Readers can download, print, or email personal study copies of the correspondence from our microform reader-printers. If you live in the Southern California area, please visit the Research Library in person. Submit a Library Request Form to make an appointment.
How may I request scans of the Frank Lloyd Wright correspondence remotely?
If you reside outside of the Southern California area and are unable to visit the Research Library, you may request photocopies from the Frank Lloyd Wright correspondence on microfiche. Please limit your request to a maximum of 50 pages. Generally, we are able to fulfill photocopy orders within one month. However, this is dependent upon current workloads in the library. If you have a short deadline and need the material more quickly, you may want to consider hiring a local researcher. Should you wish to pursue this option, we can provide you with the names of local researchers who may be available.We regret that we are unable to accommodate rush requests.
If you live in the Southern California area, please visit the Research Library in person to make unlimited scans. Submit a Library Request Form to make an appointment.
How may I order scans of Frank Lloyd Wright's drawings?
Please submit a request through the Library Request Form where you will have the opportunity to read and agree to the Photocopy/PDF policy and the Terms of Use for Study.
I am preparing an article (or book). How may I use Frank Lloyd Wright's drawings or letters in my publication?
Only the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation can grant permission to use or publish Frank Lloyd Wright's drawings, letters, or writings. Please address your request for rights and reproductions requests to the following email address: RHagen@franklloydwright.org.
I am an architecture student and would like to study or create a model of one of Frank Lloyd Wright's buildings. Are copies of the architectural plans/elevations available for purchase?
In many cases, yes; however, owing to copyright restrictions the Getty Research Institute cannot provide copies of the drawings. Visit the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation's website for more information.
I have chosen Frank Lloyd Wright as the subject of my sixth grade history fair project. Could you provide me with information?
All students grades 4 through 12 who are interested in Frank Lloyd Wright may contact the Education Outreach Program of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation at the following address:
Ms. Rorke-Davis
The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation
Taliesin West
P.O. Box 4430
Scottsdale, AZ 85261-4430 USA
Tel: (480) 860-2700
Visit the foundation's Education Outreach Program on the Web
I may own some Frank Lloyd Wright-designed furniture. How can I authenticate these pieces?
The Research Library staff cannot offer authentication or evaluation services.
I believe that Frank Lloyd Wright designed my house. Can you confirm this?
The Research Library staff cannot verify whether the design of your home is by Frank Lloyd Wright.
Are there any Frank Lloyd Wright buildings in my hometown or state?
For a thorough catalog of Wright's designs we suggest that you consult The Frank Lloyd Wright Companion by William Allin Storrer (also see the bibliography compiled on the Web by the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation).
I am interested in the influence of cultures on Frank Lloyd Wright's work. I would appreciate some information.
For information about the life and work of Frank Lloyd Wright we suggest that you consult the resources of your local public or university library (also see the bibliography compiled on the Web by the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation).
Can you refer me to additional resources?
For access to the original drawings and letters, please visit the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archives (The Museum of Modern Art | Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University, New York).
For information about Frank Lloyd Wright and a bibliography of publications about him, please visit the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation.
For a searchable database of Frank Lloyd Wright buildings that are open to the public, visit the Web companion to Ken Burns and Lynn Novick's documentary film at www.pbs.org/flw.
