Research Guides and Bibliographies: Architecture & Design Collections Research Guide: Researching an Architect

Researching an Architect

African-American Architects in Current Practice by Jack Travis
Call Number: L3: BOOKS NA738.N5 A45 1991
ISBN: 1878271385
Publication Date: 1992
African American Architects by Dreck Spurlock Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: NA736 .A47 2004
ISBN: 0415929598
Publication Date: 2004
Architects From A to Z by Paul Cattermole
Call Number: LIBRARY ANNEX NA40 .C38x 2013
ISBN: 9783791347738
Publication Date: 2013
Biographical Dictionary of American Architects (Deceased) by Henry F. Withey; Elsie R. Withey
Call Number: L2 : VOCABULARY PROGRAM REFERENCE NA736 .W5 1996
ISBN: 0780800435
Publication Date: 1995
A Biographical Dictionary of British Architects, 1600-1840 by Howard Colvin
Call Number: NA996 .C6 2007
ISBN: 9780300125085
Publication Date: 2008
Contemporary Architects by Muriel Emanuel (Editor)
Call Number: NA680 .C625 1994
ISBN: 1558621822
Publication Date: 1994
Icons of Architecture by Jurgen Tesch
Call Number: NA680 .I26 1998
ISBN: 3791319493
Publication Date: 1998
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture by Randall Van Vynckt (Editor); Doreen Yarwood (Contribution by); Suhail Butt (Contribution by)
Call Number: NA40 .I48 1993
ISBN: 1558620893
Publication Date: 1993
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects by Adolf K. Placzek (Editor)
Call Number: NA40 .M25 1982
ISBN: 0029250005
Publication Date: 1982
Who's Who in Architecture by James M. Richards
Call Number: LIBRARY ANNEX NA40 .W62 1977
ISBN: 9780030173813
Publication Date: 1977

AIA Historical Directory of American Architects
The AIA Historical Directory helps you locate information about U.S. architects from the 19th and 20th centuries in the AIA Archives and elsewhere.
Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians and the University of Virginia Press, and contains histories, photographs, and maps for more than 18,000 structures and places.
Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950
The AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950 includes approximately 3,000 entries extracted from the Art History Research net database Arts+Architecture ProFiles (A+AP).
The AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950 is an ongoing project and will be constantly updated and revised.
Searches can be made by the name of an architect or firm, gender, and the country in which an architect worked.
Historic Places LA
HistoricPlacesLA is the first online information and management system specifically created to inventory, map and help protect the City of Los Angeles’ significant historic resources. It showcases the city's diversity of historic resources, including architecturally significant buildings and places of social importance, as well as historic districts, bridges, parks, and streetscapes.
International Archive of Women in Architecture Database
The International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA) was established in 1985 as a joint program of the College of Architecture and Urban Studies and the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. The purpose of the Archive is to document the history of women's contributions to the built environment by collecting, preserving, and providing access to the records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners.
Pacific Coast Architecture Database
This website provides a range of information on the buildings and architects of California, Oregon and Washington. Also included are professionals in other fields who have made an impact on the built environment, such as landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors. Building records are tied to those of their creators (when known) and include historical and geographical information and images. Bibliographical information, such as magazine and book citations and web sites, has also been linked for creators and their partnerships and structures.
Pioneering Women of American Architecture
Pioneering Women of American Architecture is a collection of profiles of fifty women who have made important contributions to American architecture. All of these women were born before 1940, at a time when women struggled both to be allowed entry into the architectural profession and to be recognized for their work.

Citation Databases (Access is available only to on-site readers and to Getty staff)

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Journal articles about architecture, design, urban planning, historic preservation, and landscape architecture.

Coverage: 1741– (updated weekly)

Link to Avery via ProQuest

Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

Coverage: 1895–2005

Link to Art and Architecture Archive via ProQuest

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)
Over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

Coverage: 1929–1984

Link to database

Freely Available Online Journals

Architectural Record via US Modernist

Coverage: most issues from 1891-2013

Arts & Architecture

Coverage: selected content from 1945-1967