Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Open Access Online Resources

This guide contains a selection of freely available online resources from various institutions and organizations that may be of interest to the Getty Library community. It contains two tabs, one for Open Access Online Resources and one for Getty Resources. To view Getty Resources click the tab to the left.

Compiled by Getty Reference Librarians, the guide is a work in progress. Additional links and information will be added over time. 

If you have questions or need assistance with a research strategy, please contact Getty Library Reference at (310) 440-7390 or reference@getty.edu.

Open Access Online Resources (No Logins Required)

The following resources are open access and always freely available. Anyone with an internet connection can access these resources from any computer, from any location, and without a login. 

Name Description
Art Design Online A compilation of digital collections, websites of art, architecture and design images, books, films, photography and more. 
Art Discovery Group Catalogue A specialized subset of Worldcat data to a vast trove of art-historical literature held in an ever-increasing number of the world’s art libraries. When search results appear, select "Open Access" under "Content Type" on the left side of the screen to refine search results.
Calisphere  A gateway, published by the University of California, to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 1,725,000 images, texts, and recordings.
Digital Library of the Middle East

Free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Developed by an engineering team from the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) and Stanford Libraries, the platform federates and makes accessible data about collections from around the world.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Discover over 37,000,000 images, texts, videos, and sound recordings from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the United States.
Documents of Latin American and Latino Art Explore over 8,000 documents of 20th and 21st-century art in Latin America, the Caribbean, and among US Latino communities, brought together by the International Center for the Arts of the Americas at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston.
The Environmental Scan (Art Information Commons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art) A growing inventory of resources relevant to research in the fields of art history, cultural heritage, and the humanities.
Europeana Provides access to millions of books, music, artworks, films, and more from European museums, galleries, libraries, and archives.
Gallica

The digital library of the National Library of France and its partners. It is updated every week and offers access to nearly 7 million documents.

Google Books A comprehensive index of full-text books.
Google Scholar Google Scholar allows broad searches across a wide variety of scholarly literature.
Internet Archive Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Includes Open LibraryBooks to Borrow, and Internet Archive Scholar.
JSTOR Open Access content on JSTOR and Artstor. And through December 31, 2020 JSTOR allows people who sign up for a free individual account to access 100 articles every 30 days for free (this is an increase of the usual 6 articles every 30 days for free) that are not part of their open access content. 
JSTOR Open Community Collections JSTOR’s Open Community Collections initiative provides access to multiple institution’s special collections by making them freely available and discoverable.
Los Angeles County Library e-card  For Los Angeles county residents only, valid for 90 days.
Los Angeles Public Library e-card  For Los Angeles city residents only, valid for 3 years.
Library of Congress Open access books from the Library of Congress.
Open Access Button Millions of free, legal, full-text research articles delivered instantly or automatically requested from authors. The Open Access Button is supported by SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition.) SPARC is a global library coalition committed to making Open the default for research and education.
Public Books Database A list of academic presses making books and journals available through open and/or temporary access.
Project MUSE

Open access content from a selection of university presses and scholarly societies. Books and journals are freely available to libraries and users around the world.

SciELO SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) is an open access database with full text articles and citations from countries in Latin America, Iberian Peninsula, and South Africa. Includes subjects related to the arts, humanities, and literature.
SCIPIO database Available through the Art Discovery Group Catalogue. SCIPIO is a gateway to more than 300,000 auction and sales catalogs from the 16th century to the present.  
Ultimate Guide to Virtual Museum Resources, E-Learning, and Online Collections  Published by MCN (Museum Computer Network). This guide also includes digital archives and libraries.  
Unpaywall 

An open database of 25,777,611 free scholarly articles that is a project of Our Research, a non-profit building tools to help make scholarly research more open, accessible, and reusable.

Worldcat

WorldCat connects to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. When search results appear, select "Open Access" at the left side of the screen to narrow down search results.