Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Library Appointment and COVID-19 Policies for Readers and First-Time Visitors

Welcome

This guide contains the Library’s appointment and COVID-19 policies.  

The Library is open to all by appointment.

We cannot accommodate walk-ins, same day appointments or same day ticket reservation requests.

Full vaccination is required by your appointment dates. Proof of vaccination is required.

See the following for additional information:

Library's access policies and reader privileges 

Library hours  

Getty Center COVID-19 Safety Measures  

(Last updated: 8/8/2022)

Appointment & Ticket Reservation Policies

New, Renewing, and Current Readers must adhere to the Library’s appointment and ticket reservation policies below.

  • The Library cannot accommodate walk-ins, same day appointments, or same day ticket reservation requests.
  • General Collections Appointments (access to general library spaces and open stacks):

New and Renewing Readers* contact the Library at least two weeks in advance. 

  • Special Collections Appointments (requires a confirmed seat reservation in the Special Collections Reading Room and includes access to General Collections, general library spaces and open stacks):

New, Renewing* and Current Readers contact the Library in advance (we recommend at least two weeks in advance).

The Special Collections Reading Room is small. Seating is very limited. The number of seats is reduced depending on the size of material that researchers need to consult, staffing, and the evolving nature of COVID-19 restrictions and guidelines. 

Appointment priority is given to Getty staff, Getty residential scholars, and deferred 2020/2021 Getty Library Research Grant Recipients.

We do not maintain a waitlist.

Special Collections Reading Room hours are Monday - Friday, 9:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

  • Library appointments (including Special Collections Reading Room appointments) must be requested in advance in writing by submitting a Library Request Form.
  • After the Library staff receives your appointment request, confirms your appointment(s), and makes your ticket reservation(s) you will receive:

An email from Library staff confirming the details of your appointment(s) and, if applicable, information regarding requesting materials and the Reader registration or renewal procedures.

AND

An email from Getty Tickets (tickets@ticketing.getty.edu) with your Getty Library ticket reservations(s). Check your spam/junk folder if you don’t receive the email in your inbox. This is a ticket for the Library only.​​​​​

  • We highly recommend that you make flexible arrangements for travel and lodging if you live outside the local area. 
  • While we will do our best to accommodate confirmed appointments, due to the evolving nature of COVID-19 restrictions and guidelines, it is possible that we may need to reschedule your appointment(s).
  • Getty Library ticket reservations for New and Renewing Readers must be made by Library staff.
  • A Getty Museum timed-ticket reservation is not valid to visit the Library.
  • A Library ticket reservation does allow you to visit the Museum. 
  • Parking validation for Current Readers using the Library is available at the Getty Research Institute Lobby on the Plaza level.
  • Repeated "no-shows" without advance cancellation may result in the suspension of your reader privileges.
  • Cancelation/Reschedule Policy: If you need to cancel or reschedule your appointments/ticket reservations, please let us know as soon as possible so other researchers may use the Library or the Special Collections Reading Room. 
  • *Renewing Reader Policy: 

Renewals are subject to approval and can take place on or after the expiration date on a Stack or Extended Reader badge.

All Readers remain in our system. When a renewal is approved, we can process renewals beyond the expiration date on a Reader badge.

Due to high demand and limited staff, we cannot accommodate renewal requests to be eligible for parking validation only.

(Last updated: 8/8/2022)

Vaccination Policy & Verification Process

The Getty Library requires all Readers to be fully vaccinated with a WHO-approved COVID vaccine by the date of their appointment.

Two weeks must pass after the second dose of a 2-dose series or a single-dose vaccine. 

We require proof of full vaccinations, and urge booster shots.

You must show your government-issued photo ID with your paper vaccination card, digital vaccination record, or a photograph of your vaccination card.

Vaccination verification is a 2-step process

  • Step 1: Upon entry at the GRI Plaza level, stop at the Security Desk. A security officer will conduct a vaccination verification check and a sticker will be placed on both sides of your Reader badge (or a temporary badge). 
  • Step 2: After receiving the stickers, you must check-in at the Reference Desk when it is open between 9:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m. and show your stickers to the Library staff member so that we can complete the verification process.*

* Once you receive the stickers on your Reader badge and verify them at the Reference Desk, you will not need to do these steps again, unless you receive a new Reader badge or forgot your Reader badge. At T1 the main entrance, you will show your Reader badge with stickers to the staff member or security officer to proceed directly to the tram. 

(Last updated: 10/7/2022)

Mask Policy

The wearing of masks indoors is strongly recommended at all times in Library spaces, but no longer required. 

Masks are available to Readers upon request. Please ask at the GRI Plaza Security desk.  

(Last updated: 03/7/2022)

Food and Drink Policy & Options

Consuming food or drinks is not allowed inside the GRI. Eating and drinking is allowed in the GRI L2 Community Lounge or outdoor spaces. 

The GRI L2 Community Lounge is open for Readers. Microwaves, a Reader-use only refrigerator, filtered water, snack and drink vending machines, coffee, and tea are available. 

Readers may purchase food from the Getty Center Cafe (Monday - Friday). The Cafe is only open to staff, business visitors, and Readers. Additionally, food is available at Museum Garden Terrace Cafe and either Coffee Cart (Tuesday - Friday) and food can be ordered online in advance at https://gettycenterdining.buy-ondemand.com/

(Last updated: 9/30/2021)