Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Blondell Cummings

A resource of selected archives, bibliographies, and pedagogical tools relating to the work of choreographer and video artist Blondell Cummings (1944-2015).

Access

The Library is open Monday to Friday, 9:30am to 5pm, by appointment to registered Readers and new researchers. Capacity is limited. Library users must comply with the Library’s COVID-19 policies, including being fully vaccinated by the date of your appointment.

Call (310) 440-7390 or email reference@getty.edu to make an appointment or ask questions.

Please send any additions, corrections, or other suggestions for this research guide to reference@getty.edu.

Notable GRI Collections

Blondell Cummings’ work and life connects to other holdings in the GRI collections, including The Kitchen, High Performance, Yvonne Rainer, and Long Beach Museum of Art archives. Many performances by Blondell Cummings can be found in the Kitchen Archive. Documentation includes video recordings, correspondence, and performance programs. Her appearance in Yvonne Rainer’s film Kristina Talking Pictures (1976) can be found in Rainer’s archives, and her collaboration with filmmaker and video artist Shirley Clarke can be found in the Long Beach Museum of Art. A key interview with Cummings can be found in High Performance. These archives reflect a significant group of Research Institute collections documenting contemporary video, dance, and performance from the 1970s and 80s. Her work introduces a focus on African American artists making works across these media during this time period, and reflects understudied collaborations and points of connection across the archives. The GRI’s archival holdings also support postwar performance and multidisciplinary histories more broadly.