Skip to Main Content
site header image

Database A-Z list

Access is available to on-site readers, Getty staff and scholars, and Getty Library registered readers with authorized Getty EZproxy access, unless otherwise noted.
Questions? Contact Library: reference@getty.edu / 310-440-7390.

Loading...

New or Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
  • No EZproxy access
Trial
Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of irreplaceable local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. These newspapers, emerging during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as a crucial channel of information in towns and major cities, provide researchers with a unique, first-hand perspective on history. With more than 240 newspaper titles, the series is comprised of approximately 6.4 million pages of historic content, from articles to advertisements. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.
Kino-fot Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternative Name(s) DA-KFO
The legendary Russian cinema and photographic art journal, the core of Gan-Rodchenko-Stepanova collaboration, published in 1922-1923. Issues illustrated throughout with typographic designs and photos of the abstract compositions by Rodchenko; articles by Kuleshov, Dziga Vertov and N. Bernstein, numerous letterpress designs. All advertisements are also designed in dynamic black and red Constructivist style. Photography and cinema were both still very new and exciting for a new emerging audience. Photomontage pictures, avant-garde layouts, unusual types and all other elements put the Kino-fot journal on the very edge of design and influenced the creative flow of 1920s.
LEF Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternative Name(s) DA-LEF
Complete Digital Archive of the renowned Russian journal LEF (Left Front of the Arts) published in the early 20th Century contains rare works of avant-garde writers, photographers, critics and designers in the turbulent era of the first Soviet art. This archive combines both runs of the journal, LEF (1923 to 1925) and its successor Novyi LEF (1927 to 1928).
Sovetskaia Kul’tura Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternative Name(s) DA-SK
Kul’tura (Культура, Culture), as it is known today, is the most important Soviet and Russian publication on culture from 1929 to the present, with reviews of major events in literature, theater, cinematography and arts. For nearly 100 years, Kul’tura has provided a unique perspective on ever-changing attitudes toward arts and culture in Soviet and Russian societies.

Kul’tura was previously published as Rabochii i iskusstvo (Рабочий и искусство, Workers and Art, 1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (Советское искусство, Soviet Art, 1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (Литература и искусство, Literature and Art, 1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1953), and Sovetskaia kul’tura (Советская культура, Soviet Culture, 1953-1991). This digital archive does not include current year issues.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...